Acceptance

“…When you stopped wishing things wouldn’t fall apart, you’d stop suffering when they did.” ― John Green

Once you accept everything in your control and all that isn’t, life suddenly seems like a ‘breeze’ to live.
It feels as though a weight is lifted off your shoulders. It’s easier to breathe, to love and to smile.

There was a question, always on my mind; “What if?”

What if I studied a bit more?
What if I feared a bit less?
What if I did something more useful?

What if? What if? What if?

I got tired of asking these questions to myself; day in & day out.
I got tired that my brain and my heart had to go through this whole round of hate, self- pity & regret to answer those questions.

I detested the fact that I put myself through all of this self-doubt & negativity. It was absolutely awful.
Imagine thinking about all of these negative situations, all throughout the day, when that’s what they’ll always be; negative situations. They may not even play out in real life!
What I did know,however, was that it was eating me alive; turning me into someone I couldn’t even recognize.

So now I accept. I accept myself as I am and the reasons that have led me to be where I am today. I accept that not everything is under my control & sometimes, I have to let go.

Like Mr. Henry Wadsworth Longfellow says “For, after all, the best thing one can do when it is raining is let it rain.”

I have slowly started to see life what it truly is; A Flawed Beauty; A wonder of its own, unique to it’s Maker.

4 thoughts on “Acceptance

  1. Pragmatic Dreamer, how are you? I’ve been away from the blogging world and have just started writing again. I see you’ve taken a break too. I wrote yesterday about ‘Acceptance’. Today, I was reading an older post on IHM’s blog (am a guest blogger there) and I saw your comment. I clicked on it and ended up here … and you are talking about the same thing that was n my mind last night – acceptance! Coincidence or serendipity:) Anyway, hope you are well, and keep writing!

    Like

  2. Hi, Priya!

    Yeah, I’ve taken a break since this post. Initially, I got busy with applying to universities & now, I recently started studying again.
    I’ve been trying to keep up with the coursework!

    Sometimes I open this page to post & I’m always short of words 😐

    I’ve been meaning to reply to you every time I get an email prompt of your blog post, but just never did.
    When I saw the last one you wrote about Acceptance (I’m assuming it’s Serendipity ;)), I thought I just had to reply & it was a wonderful surprise to see your reply here :D! (I was looking for your email id – thought of emailing you :))

    Hope you’ve been doing good too 🙂 & looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just read your reply and replied. Glad to have you back! Best of luck with your studies. Maybe you can blog about your degree/coursework/what you are learning/other students?

    Also, I would like to invite you to write a guest post for IHM’s blog (on any topic related to women). As you know, I’m a guest blogger there and just started writing there again. I’m inviting other women bloggers to write there to keep that community of support for women active – more is explained in this post:

    https://indianhomemaker.wordpress.com/2017/02/22/clarification-about-this-site/

    You can always email me at wordssetmefreee@outlook.com just to talk – this would also be the email t send in your guest post – if you want to do it. BTW, you can also take one of your older posts and update it with some current thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you!
    Yes, was planning to start writing about my experiences soon 🙂

    Writing for IHM, that does sound good – Great idea to keep the IHM website active.

    I’ll send you the post on the email id you’ve given & will talk more soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

