Why we Miss the Silver Lining?

“We’re wired to expect the world to be brighter and more meaningful and more obviously interesting than it actually is. And when we realize that it isn’t, we start looking around for the real world.” ― Lev Grossman

Every step we have taken together has been a joyous walk to wherever it is we are walking towards. There have been many not-so-great situations in the external world but I’m glad to be holding your hands & fighting all the demons around us.

While looking for a partner, I wasn’t looking for someone who would just send me flowers everyday or tell me that he loves me all the time but someone who would just be – a partner, a partner during the worst, during the boring & the best times of our lives together. We would be strong for each other & always believe in ourselves.

We would bring out the best in each other but also accept each others dark sides.

At the same time I always assumed that once I meet “the One”, everything would finally fall into place.

What I didn’t see was that there are so many situations, experiences & circumstances that make us who we are. We are as complicated as we are simple to decipher.

What I’ve come to realize is that once we are together, we don’t become a single entity but we are two different people who have decided that we are compatible enough (and like each other enough) to live together, spend the rest of our lives together & have a little family of our own.

Even though we are together, we still have our own demons to fight.

Just because you’re my partner, you can’t fight my demons & I can’t fight yours because we don’t understand how to fight them.

The reason I’m writing all of this is because I’m just beginning to understand what kind of expectations I can keep & I get now that you can’t fix everything. You are my partner, not some wizard who can correct everything wrong in my life using magic.

All I can expect from you is that you will be there when I come back beaten black & blue and help me clean the wounds. I can expect you to give me a hug when I’ve failed & celebrate with chocolate cake & French fries when I win.

I’m not perfect and you have your own little flaws but we are good with each other & ultimately that’s what matters.

“Too many people miss the silver lining because they’re expecting gold” – Maurice Setter

P.S: Let’s get French Fries.

Leave a Reply

