Sometimes I wish…

“When grandparents enter the door, discipline flies out the window.” ― Ogden Nash

Every day I wish I could spend 2 more minutes with you by my side; my head resting on your lap & you running your hands through my hair telling me your story.

I used to love listening to your stories & now I realize I don’t know you at all. I wish we could’ve spent more time together. I want to know how you & grandpa lived together & built this life together with four children in a tow.

I wish I had documented everything you told me about yourself.

I want to know what’s your favorite color, favorite pastime, your dreams, if you were able to achieve all you’ve always wanted to, places you’ve been to, your craziest moment & your worst one; everything.

I miss those very few moments we got to spend together. My mouth still waters when I think of your famous & extremely spicy chilli pakodas, all those times you consoled me after my bad dreams (which then involved cockroaches & ants crawling all over the place) & that time you yelled at me when I ventured outside when the lights had gone out.

There are so many things I wanted you to see & so many things to ask, things I can’t ask my parents without being reprimanded or judged for asking them.

It’s been over 13 years but I still remember my last birthday I celebrated with you. You spoke to me as though you knew deep inside that we wouldn’t ever meet again.

I wish you were here to tell me that whatever problems I’m going through are quite small in the grand scheme of things, that things always get better when you start from rock-bottom, that no matter what mistakes I make, you’ll always be by my side encouraging me to make some more [:)].

I can’t help but get annoyed at those who ridicule their grandparents who are in fact really sweet people, who have nothing but Love to offer, those who make the yummiest snacks & take their grand-kids to the park.

I want to tell them that they have no idea what they’re missing out on by not spending time with these old folks. They have amazing stories to share & they’d learn so much from them (most of them anyway).

I hope that you call your grandparents once in a while or write letters because no one in this world (apart from your parents) would love you more than they do.

“Nobody can do for little children what grandparents do. Grandparents sort of sprinkle stardust over the lives of little children.” – Alex Haley

P.S: Happy Grandparents Day in advance 🙂

Leave a Reply

