One Crazy Night…

Lots of people want to ride with you in the limo, but what you want is someone who will take the bus with you when the limo breaks down. – Oprah Winfrey

Scrolling through glimpses of my past captured in so many bytes of my phone’s camera roll, I came across pictures taken on one of the craziest nights I have spent in my life after college. Sharing this moment with a woman I recently started seeing marked a highlight in my conversations with her.

It all started with me visiting the place I graduated in. Its a big city also known as the ‘The Silicon Valley of India’. It had a beautiful airport waiting for me as I descended.

As soon as I stepped out the arrivals gate, I felt like I time traveled back to about 10 years ago minus all the bling spread across this amazing city. I took a deep breath as I soaked in my surroundings; The Sky-High buildings, swanky new hotels, pubs & cafes on every corner of the city & noisy vehicles that seemed to have out-numbered the number of people living there.

Soon enough I was surrounded by three of my best buddies with whom I have shared innumerable number of experiences; crazy, sad & happy. No matter the number of days we stay apart, or don’t talk to each other, we would always have each others back. Always.

It was pre-decided to make the most of the two days I had. As soon as the sun set, we went to our favorite joint that sold the best drinks in town. It was already filled with many students & IT professionals drowning away the stress of the daily grind in drinks, sharing stories & bitching about bosses.

We ordered a few beers & I decided to have Long Island Ice Tea. I was dared by the other three to have a Long Island Tower!

And thus began the craziest night of my life. As the level of the drink went down, I felt myself going higher & higher. We sang old & new tunes, danced on the tables till Mr Jones, the bartender, brought me down. I flirted with countless women & used every one-liner in the book. All I remember is laughing like a maniac the whole time. We decided to tour the town on just one bike one of us owned. Imagine the four of us on one bike! We toured the whole city this way – laughing, screaming & singing all the way.

The person who said, “The Best Memories come from Bad Ideas” is a true genius!

What this night represented was not the fact that we got high or that we broke so many rules in the process or the hangover we suffered through the next morning, but this night helped us all let go of the wrong moves in our careers & relationships, every heart break, every regret, every soul sucking moment in the past ten years.

I was soon pulled back to the present distracted by her beautiful dark brown eyes & her dazzling smile that filled my insides with a joy I knew I wanted to feel for the rest of my life. It was in that moment I knew what my future held & I finally felt the peace that had taken over me that night.

Leave a Reply

