Day number 6

“There are people in the world so hungry, that God cannot appear to them except in the form of bread.” ― Mahatma Gandhi

It was day number 6 today since the truck last came. I think so at least. I couldn’t focus on what that pretty lady, who looked like an angel in a white dress & gold earrings, was telling me. She asked me to pose for a picture. She said that millions of people in the world would see my picture. She said it was a good thing because then the place she worked for would have money to buy bread for us.

That word always makes me smile. She clicked as I thought of that soft, round & sweet snack. It was so long since I last saw or felt that on my hands. I don’t remember the last time I had something to chew.

I felt as though my teeth were craving something to munch on even though my stomach stopped growling & crying a long time ago. There were small pangs of pain that would shoot through me once in a while. There were times when it got too hot, I would just fall & wake up without knowing how.

As the pretty lady clicked, I heard sounds of a truck coming our way. It smelled heavenly! Finally I would be able to feel that soft, sweet bread. I couldn’t wait to roll a piece of it in my mouth & suck on its sweetness before devouring the rest of it.

But I wasn’t the only one to run towards that big, blue truck with pictures of some old, fat men & bright red drawings scribbled all over it. There were so many stronger & bigger than me too. But I still ran & ran till I tripped over a rock. Suddenly there was a thunder of feet over me & I experienced a lot of pain as I felt some bones break. And soon nothing.

As I felt this numbness take over me, I see a flash of light getting brighter by the minute slowly consuming all of me. I felt peaceful & no longer hungry. As I rose up in the sky, I could see so many others just like me, young & old, skinny & wrinkled, all desperate for those few pieces of bread that would take the pain inside them away.

Leave a Reply

