Lie to me tonight

“I’ll tell you something, Harpy,” he said, his voice almost a whisper now. “It never even occurred to me that we wouldn’t make it. And it never occurred to you that we would. You were just waiting for us to go down in flames. I thought we could get through anything.” ― Kristan Higgins, My One and Only

I know you don’t love me anymore. It was over the moment you set your eyes on the other woman. I know she is everything you’ve ever wanted from a woman. I know she gives you everything you want & more. She’s beautiful, successful & just perfect.

I know I’m not that woman & I can never be her even if I were granted a thousand wishes. I know I will be alright one day & live my dreams even though right now I don’t see that happening.

But before you leave please, lie to me tonight.

Tell me you love me because that’s how I want to remember you. I want my memories of us to remain untouched by the negativity that tarnished our relationship these past few months.

Tell me this is where you wish to be forever & now. Kiss me & hug me like you mean it. I want the scent of your perfume to forever mix with mine & never fade. Pull me close & don’t let go.

Tell me that you’ve not met anyone as beautiful as me, inside & out. Let’s cook Pasta & watch ‘Wall-E’ till I fall asleep. Let’s talk about everything that we hate & our future selves.

Play our song on repeat & dance with me till our legs give away. Tell me why was it you fell in love with me in the first place. Count the stars with me till the sun rises. Tell me that everything will be alright again. Tell me that the past five years mattered to you too.

Tell me that you love me because I will never love anyone as much as I love you. Tell me you love me because my soul will be dead tomorrow.

Lie to me because your words are the only thing I believe in.

Leave a Reply

