When the Monster Travelled on the Wrong Side of the Road

Accidents on big mountains happen when people’s ambitions cloud their good judgment. Good climbing is about climbing with heart and with instinct, not ambition and pride. – Bear Grylls

Finally I was at a point in my life where everything was near-perfect. These moments I lived, that were just fragments of my dreams before, they were finally in the present & I was living them.

I live in a city where you can see people’s dreams coming true & falling apart side by side. Everyone rushes to reach heights higher than the highest mountains & yet some seem restless after reaching them. At the same time you can see the some who live as though they have everything & are happy while sitting on a footpath playing with a stray dog, smoking a rolled up cigarette.

It was in this city I decided to follow my dreams. After years & years of hard work & many downs, I could finally see a tiny part of the life I envisioned unfurl before my eyes. I started to understand myself better & in that journey found someone who understood me too. Someone who loved me & I loved back.

Like in a Fairytale, we fell in love & got married. Soon we got into the life of routine, lots of love, many fights, small & big get-a-ways, bigger apartments & better cars. A few years later we decided we needed an addition to our little family & we were soon blessed with a little girl.

She disrupted our routine & get-a-ways but we loved it.

She was one of the best things that could have happened to us. She was so beautiful & smart & spoke as though she’s got an immense wealth of knowledge as that of a 100 year old sage.

Time flew by & she grew up enough to join & seek knowledge with others her age. All dressed up in a uniform, she gave me a peck on my cheek & I promised her that we would share an ice-cream sundae to celebrate this huge milestone in her life when she returns.

After we took all the mandatory selfies & ‘first day to school’ pictures, she smiled her cutest & widest smile, the thing she knows I hold most precious above anything else in the world, & sent me flying kisses as she held her father’s hand excited to board the school bus for the very first time in her life.

They waited at the bus-stop & I could see her talking to my husband, no doubt asking him all sorts of questions about school that he loved to answer.

A minute later I see a Red Bus, rushing as though it had a plane to catch, speeding on the wrong side of the road, the road where the two loves of my life were waiting & talking.

In a haze of screeches, screams & blood, it was all over.

I could see my whole life disintegrate in front of my own eyes. My dreams, my life, my everything just blow up & there was absolutely nothing I could do. Just because the person behind the wheels probably assumed he could save time by travelling on the wrong side of the road. Just because he was impatient & sped as though he were behind the wheels of a Ferrari. Just because he was haughty, arrogant & angry or miserable that he didn’t bother looking around & drove assuming everything & everyone would move out of his way.

I lost them because a stupid man behind a bus who couldn’t wait for 10 minutes.

We were supposed to celebrate with an Ice-cream sundae.

Note: I have written this after reading about the terrible accident that took away the lives of Mrs Jyoti Gupta’s husband & child because a speeding bus came from the wrong side and dragged them away. Both died on the spot & the driver was out of jail on Bail in a matter of a few hours.

I don’t know the family personally nor do I know the gory details of the accident however I would request readers to please sign this petition & support her fight this battle for road safety: https://www.change.org/en-IN/petitions/ensure-a-stronger-road-safety-law-and-introduce-it-in-parliament-roadsafety. Please share this wherever you can.

I would also like to remind anyone reading this that if you drive, please don’t text, call, make out, eat or drink while driving unless it is hands free & doesn’t blur your vision or concentration.

When you are behind wheels, it’s not just your life that hangs in the balance but the life of others too. Think about this every time you step on the accelerator, break a red light or ignore the Stop sign.

2 thoughts on “When the Monster Travelled on the Wrong Side of the Road

  1. You are absolutely right. Whenever I’m running late for work or the kids’ school, I tell myself to never, ever give in to the temptation to speed up. It’s okay to be late. It’s not okay to get into an accident. That’s what I tell my kids too.

    Your story made it very real. A story makes us start caring about the characters and their outcomes. What a nice way you have of driving home the message – through stories. In fact, isn’t this how humanity has always passed on their ideas – through stories? Love your blog!

    Like

    • Thank you! 🙂
      What you’ve said is quite true… Stories and people’s experiences do influence the way one thinks about the world…!
      It’s good you have accomplished resisting the temptation… I’m yet to learn to be more patient… 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

