Ten Minutes

“One day spent with someone you love can change everything.” ― Mitch Albom

Every plan we made to meet & spend a few days together didn’t work out. It was like the universe conspired against us. Us, the soul mates, who were never meant to be together but will be together anyway (link). We fought against all odds & met for those precious Ten minutes before the bus left it’s stop.

Those Ten minutes felt like Ten seconds & Ten hours at the same time. Time came to a standstill when we hugged but in reality time was running out.

I had no words to say what I truly felt & yet I spoke about a million other things. We had ten minutes to register each others’ faces, to freeze this moment forever in our minds, to talk about things we had been through in the past few months, take pictures & say Good bye again.

This is what I wanted to tell you in those Ten minutes we had together.

Every minute I spend with you, I spend it in this magical land where there are Unicorns & Rainbows; a place similar to what they describe heaven to be. Every time you smile at me I forget what I was worrying about & anything that makes me sad. Every time to hold me in your arms I feel the burden on my shoulders mysteriously disappear.

You make me want to believe in myself again. You make me see the good in the world & overcome my fears. Every beautiful song I have heard in my life starts to play in the background. I notice the flowers on the sidewalk & actually stop to smell the scent of freshly cut grass. I feel free & want to dance till my feet give away & sing my heart out. I want to climb the highest mountains & swim in the deepest oceans. I want to run marathons & jump from helicopters.

I want to tell you that you are the best friend only the luckiest people in the world have & the person who changed the way I look at the world & made me who I am today.

You are my person.

I wish I didn’t have to leave. I wish I had the guts to forgo the responsibilities life has forced upon me, get off the bus & stay with you.

You should know that in another Life, at another Time & in another Place I would choose you.

Leave a Reply

