This is Our Story

“And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.” ― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I don’t remember much of the first time we met. Back then, I was trying to be someone I wasn’t. So it definitely wasn’t love at first sight.

I do remember the 2nd time though. It was the first time I actually met you. At that moment, I knew, us, together, will be a story. This is the start of ours.

When I met you, I felt as though we’ve always been friends. It’s something one can’t fathom. It’s one of those mysteries of the universe. Maybe our souls recognized each other from our past lives. I never believed in Past Lives until I met you. Your soul is so pure, that the sheer vastness of it is what I see when I look into your eyes. I go into Oblivion.

We are amazing. I know this because when we’re together, the world around us lights up brighter than a Christmas tree. I know we would do just about anything for each other. You can feel what I am feeling sitting hundreds of miles away from me. You know what is best for me & you tell me as it is, even though the truth hurts. You don’t try to hide your true self around me & that is what I love most about you.  Do you know how rare that is?

Unknowingly, you bring out the best in me. Every single time we meet, I see something more in you than I did the previous time.  I feel so naïve when you describe all your experiences in your life. You’ve experienced so much in such a short period of time.

I know we would be amazing as “One”. Our stars have aligned… But we aren’t meant to be. You & I have different wants from life. We are traveling through different paths, paths that are in opposite directions, paths that I never see crossing. But I know we would always be in each others’ hearts.

I will never stop believing in us.

I don’t want to tell the world we are best friends or lovers, because I don’t think that’s what we are. We are something else altogether… Something that doesn’t have a label yet.

Our story isn’t like the others, ours is different & weird. It isn’t a love story like Romeo & Juliet, or some story about best friends who die for each other but it’s about soul mates that were never meant to be together but will be together anyway.

Ours is a story that would never end.

This is our story.

4 thoughts on “This is Our Story

Leave a Reply

